Weekend Reading #3

20130620-170758.jpg

The next time we talk I’ll be galavanting around Central Asia, filling my brain with all sorts of new fodder. I just have a 56-hour train ride to get through first. If there were wifi on this train (hah!) I’d be re-reading this stuff all over again. Failing that, I have two 800-page books, two movies, and piles of podcasts and songs. Hope I make it to Astana with my sanity intact!

•Bye bye, Moscow! For those of you still in town, do check out some of these cool old buildings.

• Are you as big a fan of personality tests as me? This one differs in that it shows how people see you, and what you bring to the table. It’s about $30, but I thought it was quite insightful. I was the “Wise Owl.” Take it and tell me your archetype!

It’s easy to sabotage yourself in the early stages of a job. Doing what you say you will, and not being too fussy will go far.

•This woman is “too pretty to work .” Um, please.

•Mm, ice cream. This sounds like the best mix yet.

•It’s not summer without ice cream. And picnics! And swimming! What other plans have you got?

•Homemade life. In Sweden!

•Is there anything better than Mad Men? Those costumes are incredible.

•On a similar note, have you ever wanted to see your favourite films categorised by colour palette?

This man worked as a private chef to Kim Jong-il for YEARS. Needless to say, his relationship with the great leader is rather complicated.

Gay and lesbian couples may be far better at the “division of labour” than their straight counterparts.

This crime went unsolved for years, before turning out to have the unlikeliest of solutions

•If you’re upset with someone, here’s how to tell them in a constructive way.

See you in Asia, friends!


4 Comments on “Weekend Reading #3”

  1. pollyheath says:

    The houses of Moscow page is AWESOME!

    Have some super fun on your awesome trip — lots of pictures, please.

  2. Stephen says:

    hi Sarah I just found your blog through another ESL teacher’s blog. I am thinking of going to Moscow to teach ESL as well and am a fellow Canadian. Had a quick browse and am interested to see food choices in Russia. I also lived in London for a time, so your posts brings back memories. How long did you live in each city?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Stephen! That’s awesome, London is a great city. My mum’s been living there for four years, so I’ve been there off and on since 2009. I was in Moscow for about a year and a half, and I definitely recommend it as a place to teach ESL, especially if you’re willing to hustle a bit.

      Thanks for reading, and if you have any other questions I’ll try my best to answer them!

  3. Stephen says:

    cool, sounds like you are quite the traveler! I see you are going to Asia next, that will be exciting! I lived in Hong Kong and Seoul before as well, they are bustling places.

    Send me an e-mail, I can recommend some food options for Asia if you like.


Leave a Reply

