How to Eat Healthily in Moscow: Fresh Food Delivery

Beautiful, beautiful food from Lavka Lavka. And the amazing August sunshine.

Beautiful food from Lavka Lavka. And amazing August sunshine.

I never thought Moscow would have the market for farm-fresh food delivery, but I’m so glad it does. There isn’t much competition yet, so you will definitely be paying more than at your local supermarket, but every so often it’s totally worth it. Are we one step away from getting a Whole Foods?!

LavkaLavka: They get produce from all around the Moscow region (and beyond! The plums I got came from–Oo!–Crimea) and deliver it to you in simple brown paper bags. Even nicer, they tell you the origin of each of the items. I ordered from Lavka in the summer and got some milk, tvorog, plums, grapes, corn on the cob, zucchini, peas, potatoes, and beets. Unfortunately, the herring that was supposed to be in my order was nowhere to be found, and my credit card payment did not go through, but oh well. Kinks to be worked out! They did follow up with a phone call asking how everything was, which I appreciated.

I loved the surprise of not knowing what I’d get (and, lazily, not having to click through everything), so I liked the small mix, which costs 1,500 roubles, plus 300 if you want it delivered.

Tvorog (farmer's cheese) from Nina Kozlovа.

Tvorog (farmer’s cheese) from Nina Kozlovа.

Vegaria: Don’t be deterred by the unfortunate name, which sounds like some strange disease. This is  a good place to find vegetarian staples like seitan, tofu, coconut oil, and nut butters. Living in Russia, nut butters are one of the things I miss most, so I practically wept with delight when I found a company that makes peanut butter, cashew butter and almond butter. The company is called, inventively, nutbutter.ru. I did find these elusive nut butters at a market once, but it’s easiest to buy them through their Livejournal (how quaint) and on sites like Vegaria. I ordered something like 8 jars of nut butter, but now that it’s gone I wish I’d ordered even more. Delivery is free if you order more than 2500 roubles worth of merchandise, and they generally deliver between 15h and 21h, which should serve most people’s schedules.

Ferma: Like LavkaLavka, they sell fruit, vegetables, meat, dairy and honey straight from the farm to their quirky, impossible-to-find shop near Chistie Prudi. They bill themselves as an all-organic place, too, if that appeals to you. The other day, the start of “spring” as it happens, I picked up my food order, which included cabbage, apples, carrots, and an enormous pumpkin. I might order from them again, but only in summer, when I don’t have to carry 10 kilos of vegetables through this:

Ah, Spring. Photo by Julia Shcheblyko

Ah, Spring. Photo by Julia Shcheblyko

Sadly, they only deliver if you order 3000+ roubles worth of food, though delivery is free if your order is over 6000 roubles. My order came out to a bit less than 1000, so you can imagine how much you’d have to order to hit 6000…

DSCN2782

Out of all three, I’ll probably go back to Lavka Lavka first, as it was the most convenient, with the greatest selection and fair prices. But Ferma did give me the chance to put my cooking to the test; I mean, what am I supposed to make with this massive pumpkin?

Cat-sized pumpkin

Cat-sized pumpkin


One Comment on “How to Eat Healthily in Moscow: Fresh Food Delivery”

  1. Heather says:

    Eee! The cat’s so cute! And that pumpkin looks awesome. You could make this:

    http://www.princesstofu.com/2012/11/16/day-2-roasted-pumpkin-soup/


Leave a Reply

