Pumpkin Cheesecake and the End of Autumn

Thanksgiving 025

Thanksgiving is over and done (long done if you celebrated Canadian Thanksgiving in mid-October), but that doesn’t mean we can’t enjoy some photos of a pumpkin cheesecake. I’ve made this twice, and it’s seriously the best. And I bought bourbon! (Just for this recipe, I promise.) It’s not a difficult recipe either, though it does come in three steps: crust, filling, top. Funnily enough, the last time I made it was in Estonia, where it was equally hard to find things like pumpkin and graham crackers. Never fear. It’ll turn out well no matter what. Even if you, like me, have to substitute butternut squash for pumpkin, maple syrup for most of the sugar, and “health cookies” for the graham crackers. On the plus side, unlike a traditional cheesecake, it won’t matter a bit if the top cracks. That’s what the sour cream topping is for.

Thanksgiving 013My camera battery has been sadly languishing at my mum’s, so I’m indebted to my friend Stasya for taking all these nice photos. I was pretty haphazard about this, throwing in handfuls of this, pinches of that, so I don’t have anything close to a recipe for you. Find it over at Smitten Kitchen instead. I’d only suggest that you double the crust. There’s never enough.

Moscow is now a snowy winterland, with its scary iced-over sidewalks and bouts of freezing rain. But the boulevards especially look so nice. This one from Old Moscow, of the Chisti Prudi Boulevard (right near my flat) captures the feeling quite nicely. Happy winter, friends!

de62f2d799aef93d8c02b5d5c69

 


5 Comments on “Pumpkin Cheesecake and the End of Autumn”

  1. Stanislava says:

    We were the lucky ones to eat a piece of this cheesecake!

  2. Heather says:

    HATE winter. I live in the wrong country. But that cheesecake looks killer! mmmm

  3. Sarah says:

    I think you would hate it even more here, Heather. It’s so hard to walk without clomping through a mixture of slush and icy terrain. And the city looked prettiest when the snow first fell…several days ago.

  4. Anne says:

    Yum. I love pumpkin. I hope you’re planning to make this while you’re in London over Christmas! You did promise to bake. oxox

  5. Dad says:

    and I look forward to this delicious treat and more scrumptious baking at Christmas. xxoo


Leave a Reply

