Tiny Apple Turnovers

The London weather stays about the same from season to season, but the days are becoming progressively shorter and darker. Then there are all the cultural cues that tell you summer’s almost over: back to school signs in every window, the end of BBC Proms, the return of non-rerun television, and the pinnacle: the Liberty Christmas shop. But the change of seasons does have its own delights, most of them culinary. For me it’s apples, which show up everywhere on this side of the Atlantic (as they will across the pond) and form the backbone of my faux 100-mile fruit diet for the next six months. But there are so many types of apples that it’s hard to get bored. (If you’re as interested in apples as I now appear to be, this site looks like it could provide hours of nerdy fun.) My favourite apple, the sandpaper-coloured Russett, will be coming out soon. I’m very glad. And until then I can make do with lovely little pies like these.

Apple Turnovers (adapted from The Best Kept Secrets of Estonian Grannies: Recipes from my Childhood by Kadri Kroon)

My friend Katre gave me this very cool, story-like cookbook before I left Estonia, and it is just the thing for learning how to prepare my favourites from the past year, as well as plenty of new dishes.

Be warned that this recipe required a little fiddling, as details like baking time weren’t included. It also makes a lot of pies, so I halved the quantities. They’ll freeze without too many problems, and are just dandy for dessert with a slice of cheddar.

Makes 16 pies

  • 1/2 pack yeast
  • 125 ml milk
  • 2 cups flour
  • 125 g unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 apples (I used Bramleys, but I’ll bet Granny Smiths or other cooking apples would be very nice)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 75 g sugar

Pour the milk into a large bowl, add the yeast and stir until uniform. Prepare your dough in another large bowl by stirring together the flour, sugar and salt. Cut the butter in gently with a pastry cutter or two knives. Knead the dough a bit, add it to the milk and yeast mixture, then knead until it all comes together. Don’t knead too long, though, as no one likes a tough pastry. Wrap it in cling film and leave in the fridge for an hour.

Take the dough out of the fridge and divide it into two sections. Roll each section of dough into a round ball, then roll it out until approximately 1/2 cm in thickness. Slice each round into eight sections diagonally across, as if you were slicing a pizza. Preheat your oven to 175°C.

Peel the apples, remove the cores and cut each one into eight pieces. Place an apple piece on the larger end of each triangle, sprinkle with cinnamon and roll it up towards the pointed end. Turn it around in the sugar and place it on a baking tray covered with parchment paper. Repeat with all the remaining triangles. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until top is faint golden brown.

Ready for baking!


2 Comments on “Tiny Apple Turnovers”

  1. Marin(k)a says:

    For me just the same: autumn is an apple time🙂 Right now I’m feeling so nostalgic for charlottes my mum used to make. She also added pears sometimes. And those wonderful small American apple pies! mmm.. I guess, they could be similar to your version?

  2. Anne says:

    To me, apples are the only reliable fruit – always there, always good. When they get a bit old, they’ll still make a good apple sauce. An apple sitting on the corner of my desk means that I don’t have to be hungry (and I don’t have to eat cookies). Not often exciting (except for the first russet of the season), they will always be my ‘go to’ fruit.


Leave a Reply

